Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

rogue-one-a-star-wars-story-movie-image

While everything I’d read and seen about Rogue One made me pretty confident I’d enjoy it, I also suspected that it would feel very separate from the main franchise. In fact, its place in the chronology and putting it at the heart of the battle between the Empire and the rebellion mean that it’s absolutely crammed with Star Wars “stuff” – walkers, Stormtroopers, the Death Star, X-Wing Fighters, not to mention, of course, a whole host of characters from Episodes 4-6.

It’s the Hoth battle exploded to 140 minutes, epic and high stakes (despite us knowing the outcome). We quickly come to love our band of  heroes – despite many of them being rebels of relatively few words – and especially sombre Jyn, who goes from loner to leader, and the quietly charismatic Cassian, who gently inspires that change. Engrossing and great-looking, for me it’s the equal of the excellent Force Awakens.

